Drinking games in the classroom??

So…I’m off on holiday tomorrow. 15 friends in a 3 bed house in the middle of the French countryside.

On the agenda? Food, lounging in the garden and beer pong. Excellent!

However… almost certainly there will be a few drinking games that pop up later into the nights. What occurred to me as I packed was that the kids in my class might love these! And assuming I remove the dirty pint, I think they might do them some good!

Thinking about it 21s is really a great test of numerical agility, and as the game develops and more rules get added it becomes even more mathematical. Most commonly rules revolve around multiples, e.g. all multiples of 5 must be replaces with a Simpsons character, i.e. 1,2,3,4, Bart, 6, 7, 8, 9, Lisa, 11, 12, etc.etc. This could just as easily be extended to primes, factors of 20, square numbers or even triangular numbers.

Now that I think of it, this week really is a crucial exercise in preparation for next year! So long as I can remember the games the next morning…

Leave a Reply

